Prev_page Previous 1
Re: A Player's Plea for Dev Applicants 06/09/2010 11:18 AM CDT
Well, I can tell you that the problem isn't a lack of Dev Applicants.

I submitted an application approximately a month ago. Since then I have sent a few emails just looking for acknowledgement that my application had been received and a timeline. I haven't received a single response.

At this point I've withdrawn my application. It's ashame because I have a masters in computer science and professional experience and I was just looking to donate my time to enhance our community. I thought I would be filling a dire need, but based on my experiences no one on staff is feeling any pressure to bring in new developers.

If this isn't falling through the cracks I don't know what is. I've seen the posts about GM classes and cycles, which would make complete sense for a larger operation with already sufficient manpower. GS in not in that situation. There aren't enough people in the community for there to be a constant flood of new dev applications. At least have someone glance at the pool of new ones once a week or so. Failing that, read their emails.

The people offering their time presumably have other things they could be doing with the time they are offering. Demanding time commitments and then leaving applicants with no feedback is essentially asking them to put that time on hold in the hopes that it will be required. Waiting around for a decision without any feedback at all is not enjoyable and creates uncertainty when making other plans. I could only convince myself that someone would be reviewing my application real soon now for so long.
Re: A Player's Plea for Dev Applicants 06/09/2010 12:09 PM CDT
I've seen the posts about GM classes and cycles, which would make complete sense for a larger operation with already sufficient manpower.

You've got some of the facts right, but came to some of the wrong conclusions.