Enchanting - am I doing something wrong? 01/15/2022 01:34 PM CST
So I'm new to enchanting, and while I've read the relevant wiki pages and I think I understand the process/requirements, I appear to still be doing something wrong.

I'm trying to enchant 'a perfect ora footman's hammer' (a maul) that I bought from a player shop 9 or so years ago. I'm looking to take it to 3x or even 4x to start with.

I verified that it is a 2x enchant (consistent with the innate ora bonus) via swinging it with my THW-trained warrior and comparing the AS to that character's primary, known-enchant weapon (a 1x claid).

My wizard:

Your spell lists:
Minor Elemental...30
Major Elemental...20
Wizard Base.......25

Strength (STR): 72 (-4) ... 72 (-4)
Constitution (CON): 77 (23) ... 77 (23)
Dexterity (DEX): 88 (29) ... 88 (29)
Agility (AGI): 77 (23) ... 77 (23)
Discipline (DIS): 66 (3) ... 66 (3)
Aura (AUR): 96 (28) ... 96 (28)
Logic (LOG): 95 (32) ... 95 (32)
Intuition (INT): 81 (20) ... 81 (20)
Wisdom (WIS): 85 (17) ... 85 (17)
Influence (INF): 46 (-7) ... 46 (-7)

Skill Name | Current Current
| Bonus Ranks
Armor Use..........................| 20 4
Multi Opponent Combat..............| 10 2
Physical Fitness...................| 130 35
Arcane Symbols.....................| 130 35
Magic Item Use.....................| 130 35
Spell Aiming.......................| 170 70
Harness Power......................| 163 63
Elemental Mana Control.............| 130 35
Elemental Lore - Air...............| 50 10
Elemental Lore - Fire..............| 124 32
Perception.........................| 130 35
Climbing...........................| 90 20
Swimming...........................| 70 15

I'm in an enchanting workshop (FWI Wizard Guild:

You study your surroundings and use your keen knowledge of the arcane. It quickly becomes evident that this room is a strong magical workshop.

You sense that you have accumulated enough essence to complete a +50 enchantment.

I have my familiar summoned.

>look hammer