Shifting Perceived Values 03/10/2015 01:15 AM CDT
I responded to a thread talking about the F2P model we're about to start, and as I stepped away from the keyboard and considered what I wrote, I thought that I could come here and post a little more of what I meant, perhaps to spark some ideas amongst you folks smarter than me.

The recent thread on upward mobility sparks this concept, I should note, in fairness to the great ideas explored there.

Here's our scenario, GemStone folks.

With F2P, we are going to get an influx of new players. Some will be old players returning. Others will be brand new, deciding to give it a try, for whatever reason.

This is a niche game. It's a boutique game. There's a small enough group of players at this point, that we have this unique and remarkable ability to establish very clearly what is important, and the GM's have the ability to support the culture, if the movement is strong enough.

Now, ever since I started playing, there have always been two camps in GS, the RP'ers and the Levelers. I do not believe that these are mutually exclusive, for starters, nor do I believe that these focuses will ever go away. People game for different reasons, and I am not one to judge anyone's profoundly unique and individual psychology in such a thing.

Let's pretend for a minute that we all agree that Elanthia is a much better place to play if there aren't zombie MA scripting robots all over the place. Not because they're bad or evil. Why are they here? The secondary market of silvers and high level utility characters. Why are those things needed? Because the GM's create super duper awesome items and kill us with high level super duper evil creatures and we either need silvers or tough characters to have a chance at either. Let's ... get away, for a minute, from what is "right" or "wrong", if you don't mind. I applaud the resourcefulness and the ambition of those who can make a few bucks. I love capitalism.