Locksmith Bard? 05/21/2013 01:27 PM CDT
I'm just curious if something like this is possible? To what degree is this possible? Am I better off not wasting my time?

What sort of core training would you recommend?

I am very new to the game and it's mechanics so please don't assume I know ..well..anything about bards :)
Re: Locksmith Bard? 05/21/2013 03:11 PM CDT
Bards can be very good locksmiths, second only to rogues. Pick and disarm skills are fairly cheap, and you can double them. You have much cheaper access to the Minor Elemental spells, for your lock and trap lores, unlock and disarm spells, presence and piercing gaze. You also have Song of Luck which can be a godsend at times. Finally, you can sing to your boxes to determine the strength of the lock. Eventually you even get Song of Tonis which can help speed up your picking a bit.

There are some downsides. You can only double train the relevant skills, and even though they're cheap compared to everyone but rogues, rogues still get them much cheaper. You'll never have access to Lock Mastery (a rogue guild skill) so you will find boxes that are simply bard-proof (e.g. plated mithril or enruned). If you want to be a professional locksmith, picking well above your level, you will have to make some difficult choices. You will probably never be both an outstanding picker and an outstanding bard, but you can be decent at both. You can certainly pick your own boxes, at least, and that's not bad.