LIch 10/16/2016 06:44 AM CDT

Is it possible to play this game without Lich?
Re: LIch 10/16/2016 07:42 AM CDT
Yes you can.

~Contemplar~
Re: LIch 10/16/2016 08:29 AM CDT
I've been managing just fine without lich for about 21 years of gameplay.

Sweet is the sound of the pouring rain,
And the stream that falls from the hill to plain.
Better than rain or rippling brook,
Is a mug of beer inside this Took.
Re: LIch 10/16/2016 09:27 AM CDT
Lich isn't required, but not using it has costs as well as benefits. I don't use it, but if I'd just started playing I think I'd have to.

Lich has acquired a virtual monopoly on global communication which makes certain aspects of play virtually impossible without it. The only way of making contact between your character and many (most? virtually all?) other characters is to make contact with their player via Lich. If you are dependent on making frequent new contacts (e.g. rescuer, gossip, merchant, mentor, user or provider of services) you will need Lich. I don't use Lich, but it does cost me these aspects of play that used to be available to me and have virtually disappeared from my characters' experience since Lich became widespread.
Re: LIch 10/16/2016 02:58 PM CDT
2 Years ago when Luxie started her career, I installed Lich a few weeks into things and immediately went into utter overload.

Someone explained I could turn Lnet off ... and that's where it stayed for a good 2 or 3 months. Then I turned it back on, but only one channel, Prime. Several months later, I turned on Merchant and Code.

And when I started the TownCrier, I turned it on. I've added the help channel recently, and I think maybe a festival one. Some days I still ;untune them all except the TownCrier, just for sanity.

So if it is the pace of OOC Communication on LNet that is making you nervous, just know you can turn it off and still have maps. :) ;kill lnet