Master crafting first? 12/17/2015 08:36 PM CST
Been reading a lot of the older threads and see much talk about needing a 'Perfect' (preferably mithril) forging hammer for use.

As this hammer is made totally without using a forge, does it make sense to master crafting as rapidly as possible, even at the expense of doing very little forging, so that you can get this type of hammer as early as possible?

TIA
Re: Master crafting first? 12/17/2015 10:01 PM CST
My basic understanding is mastery of crafting AND forging is required to make perfect weapons, since you need a very good attempt at vicing to get the perfect weapon from two superior parts.

The preference for mithril seems to be because a magical-metal forging hammer is required to forge magical metals, and mithril is the material of choice as the generally cheapest magical metal to make it from.

To what extent the perfect hammer actually helps progress in gaining forging ranks I have not read anything.

I'm also very new to forging, so I'm mostly replying since I am also interested in the discussion, and hopefully have learned something reading and discussing the topic with others, but my replies are certainly without any authority.

Check out who's dying any time! https://twitter.com/GSIVDeathLog

>Daid: Pretty sure you have a whole big bucket as your penny jar. You never have only two cents. :p
Re: Master crafting first? 12/18/2015 02:53 AM CST