Runestaff Flares on 1030 renewal 08/21/2017 06:19 PM CDT
Is this not supposed to happen? Cause I am not seeing the flares on renewals at all.

GBB
Re: Runestaff Flares on 1030 renewal 08/21/2017 09:32 PM CDT
The use of the verb 'renew' will not cause a runestaff to flare. Ever. I have commented on this in depth in this same topic, see messages #667 & #733. I have also bugged it in-game, and encouraged Bards to do the same several times.

Basically, you HAVE TO use 'prep/cast' in order to get runestaff flares. (I never got into the 'target orc/incant' methodology, so I have never tested that. Incant may cause runestaves to flare, but I have no direct knowledge.) None of our spells currently use 'evoke', so I haven't been able to check that, either.

Since Unravel & Rage are both single-target anyhow, they can definitely get runestaff flares when you start them, however they will of course never flare on the renewals. And of course, Disruption at a single target. But you have to use prep/cast.
Yes, this means that once I have started Disruption on a single target, I continue to prep/cast at it in order get the chance at triggering the flares, rather than merely using the one-line command 'renew'.

Note that I have recently been encouraging the GMs to implement 'evoke' for BardSongs, so that multi-target spells can be used against only a single, and so that single-target spells could be used against multi. (Holding Song/1001 is a natural for this, since it started as two [one single, one multi] spell anyhow.) See #627, 778, & 860.

Now, with all of that said, I have noticed something interesting with mana flares. Apparently they are unique among flares, inasmuch as they will not only flare for defensive spells (GuardII/406, for example), and utility spells (Purification/1004)... but they will ALSO flare--unlike everything else in the game--for AoE spells. Yes, I have gotten a mana flare from a runestaff with open-cast (mass effect) Disruption...