Uncapping skill training 12/10/2015 09:34 PM CST
Something about training has been bugging me.

Trained skills like armor use and spell research can be trained by anybody but vary in cost by profession. Based on the costs themselves, cost differences by profession, and the diminishing returns in training one skill, it looks like skill training was originally intended not to be capped. For example, a wizard might 4x train in spell aiming or a warrior could 4x in weapon training, in both cases advancing at a rate of 2/1, 4/2, 8/4, 16/8, etc. Certainly they would need to sacrifice a lot of other skills to do this pre-cap, presumably skills that are fairly critical to today's game.

Given the self-regulating nature of increasing costs and diminishing returns, why limit how many times a skill can be trained by level?

I understand this question has been asked many times, both here and in several of the profession folders. The last answer I saw was something like it would be too unbalancing. What are some real examples? I believe this would actually work toward restoring balance at cap, where the number variance is the highest in the game, and would be difficult to take advantage of before that (maybe a little at the lowest levels). If keeping a professional mastery is essential, guilds should augment skills (rogues are a great example, warriors not so much).

I also understand this is not easy to implement - I'm just posting in favor of the idea, and wanted to see what others think.
Re: Uncapping skill training 12/11/2015 12:42 PM CST
I wonder if you are asking for skill ranks to be entirely uncapped or if it's the "number of ranks per level" you want uncapped.

Under your example, say a level 50 wizard could be 4x in spell aiming with around 200 ranks, but then could not train further for life. Or they should be able to train it forever, at any number of ranks, so long as they keep paying for more ranks.