Waking up after 15 years 02/25/2021 10:31 PM CST
Hello everyone,

I used to play regularly in the early 2000s or so. I was a college student back then. I'm not sure what happened but somehow I've now got 3 kids and this week one of them started asking me about what computer games were like back in the olden days. So I looked up Gemstone to see if it was still around. Surprise! The first thing that happened when I logged in was that I walked around, I tried to look at my inventory to see what I had because I couldn't remember what kind of weapons I had, then I got killed. I'm amazed I remembered my voln symbols because I had no idea where I was in the game, but at least Wehnimer's landing seems a bit familiar. My son thinks this game looks really old, but he wants to try it so I think I'll help him make a character and start over because I have no idea what to do anymore. Do new characters still start in the Landing? I think I can remember enough to help him through that. Does Tsoran still have his maps available?

Nice to be back, wonder if I'll see any familiar faces. When I logged in it said my account was last active in 2006.

Amee
Re: Waking up after 15 years 02/25/2021 10:38 PM CST
Welcome back! You're in for a treat.

With Free to Play (F2P) you will start in the landing, with a pay account, I think you might get choices. While you're exploring with your son, I'd suggest you just use the F2P option, and get all warmed up!

I'm not sure if there's an actual repository of printed maps any more, but if you send me an email to my play dot net address, I'll ship you some image files to print to get started.

Doug
Re: Waking up after 15 years 02/26/2021 03:59 AM CST
Welcome back! I dunno if you posted on the forums a lot back in the day, but your account name looks really familiar for some reason.