Length of time for a Response 07/25/2009 01:47 PM CDT
hello everyone,

I am a new trader, and just out of my month's trial period. I was wondering if there is a length of time that you can respond to a theft in a pvp fashion (kill them/hire someone to kill them/hire a thief/graverob/trip them and run them over with the caravan etc..) and which are acceptable as forms of pvp. I doubt my trader will forget having the gold that he had stolen from him anytime soon, or the perpetrator. Especially considering that he was just starting to make profits. My trader is certainly in no condition to respond at the moment, hence my inquiry of a time limit. I do know that there is a time limitation on reporting it to the guards (who apparently hide any time they are in danger of being forced to listen to an accusation).

I did try to rp it out, however the player decided just to hide and not say a word (the reason why I, the player would like to have the person robbed blind and all but one of his favors taken away). It's a game, theft can be fun if it's rp'd out (it's imaginary money, no need to stress over it), but at least have the courtesy to rp it if its noticed. Otherwise don't steal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/N-dimensional_sequential_move_puzzles#External_links
Re: Length of time for a Response 07/25/2009 01:55 PM CDT
Yes, there is a length of time to respond to theft. Its usually nebulously defined as "a reasonable amount of time". I imagine for a gold being stolen this amount of time is rather short. If you're able to make contact with the thief and they agree to RP it out longer though, more power to you both!

Your other option is to report them to the guards for theft. This is actually a lot more desirable now than it has been in the past. From what I understand, the money is taken from the thief and given back to you. You have to actually have caught the person though, and not just suspected, and the amount of time to accuse them is relatively short.