What's the deal? 08/08/2010 01:19 AM CDT
I saw a Trader today selling an item that sells in Ilaya Taipa for 5 platinum (pale spidersilk quiver accented by a tiny blue diamond sirese flower), for 750 platinum. I informed him that it sold there, figured maybe he didn't know. He basically called me a liar and ignored me.

Yes, he is free to sell his items for whatever he chooses. But come on, seriously? His entire table was this way. Store bought, insanely priced. What's the deal with Traders today?

I'm also a Trader, that just returned to the realms after a 6 year break. A Trader that is a main character, not a Trader created to clear out my other characters vaults. I'm seeing a lot of stuff like this. I keep my title and profession hidden, because quite frankly I'm considering a guild change.

A lot of people are being unpleasant, and unresponsive. Haven't seen much, if any life in the Trader guild since my return.

-Evendra
Re: What's the deal? 08/08/2010 06:32 AM CDT
Well it's good to see another honest Trader around--Welcome back.

As far as the "honesty" in buying low and selling high(an extreme case in your example), this mentality applies to the whole player base and is not unique to Traders unfortunately. The mentality that it is OK to take sore advantage of other "weaker" characters is a common perspective and to these individuals, it is their right to portray a character with that mentality. It seems that both you and I possess characters that choose not to prey upon the weak, and that's fine. Indeed, the world will always maintain balance by having characters on both sides of the moral equator.

Sometimes you have to handle dealing with a Trader like dealing with a used car salesman. You do your homework ahead of time just incase so you don't get gypped by someone who's just trying to make a large commission at your expense.

__
~Leilond
http://www.elanthipedia.com/wiki/Leilond
http://soundsoftime.bravehost.com
Re: What's the deal? 08/08/2010 07:57 AM CDT