Stealing and Profits? 02/14/2013 01:20 PM CST
I'm fairly new to the guild, and I have recently returned to the realms. So I'm starting to wonder about stealing... I feel a little like a troll asking this, but it is possible to earn equivalent money stealing vs hunting. My hunting ranks are about equivalent to my stealing ranks. Stealing is actually a little ahead. Selling shop items to the pawnshop hasn't very profitable so far. I haven't intensely studied every playable character carefully, but I haven't found many opportunities to make much money through them. Its also quite dangerous to try since I am young. The most consistent way I have found to make money from it is to fleece the war veteran as often as possible. So anyone want to share how they maximize their profits stealing? Is it worth it to try to make money at a low rank or should I wait a long while until I grow older to steal from PCs? I just read something from the abilities skills and magic folder stating that even at 900 ranks shop stealing was a money losing endeavour.
Any advice or suggestions? I hit the occasional jackpot with boxes from reavers and dusk ogres, and I'd like to mirror the success with stealing.
Re: Stealing and Profits? 02/14/2013 02:53 PM CST
So part of the problem with profiting from stealing is the way the pawn shops are setup. The more often an item is sold to a pawn the less it's value becomes to that pawn shop. You have to constantly hunt for items that other people aren't selling to the same pawn shop.

Best advice I can give is pawn in a different city than where you stole from, after that it's just about finding what you can steal that actually sells.
Re: Stealing and Profits? 02/14/2013 03:21 PM CST
>it is possible to earn equivalent money stealing vs hunting

Oh gods no. You'll lose money stealing in the long and short run unless you engage in player stealing, which requires you to have stupid victims and high skill.

Pants.