OOC: About roleplaying pregnancy and children in the realms. 10/04/2004 10:59 AM CDT
Hey guys!

I'm a little late in contributing to this topic, but this is something that has recently been on my mind and I wanted to throw out some ideas that I think might be really neat. I probably should put it in one of the idea boards, but since this is where the discussion is happening, I'd like to see what others think of the idea.

I recently started playing Sims2 and they've become even more involved in the characters having children. Now, the women get pregnant in different stages and even give birth. At first the child's actions are not independent of the other characters, so it's up to the characters to take care of the child...anyway...I was thinking....if people want to put an age limit to the IG character...ie..can't join a guild until 15 or 16, wouldn't it be neat to still have an "npg" child that is controlled by the game, like a horse, wolf, raccoon, estate holder pet, familiar, shadowling...etc.! Think of it it as your very own child pet! laughs

Just imagine some of the interactions! They'd age like the rest of us, you could have them be with you or you can send them "home" whenever you don't or can't deal with them...like during hunting. Plus, they wouldn't have a name unless you give them one and then here's how it all ties in...when they reach 15 or whatever age is deemed appropriate, they just disappear and have gone to "apprentice school", that is if you didn't kill them or something along the way. What would make this work too, is that if you can find a real person to take on the name and the age of the child after the 'npg' child goes to school, now you have your adolescent child. IF you can't...well they'll stay in school until you do, or just move to another region. I think this would be a hoot! Anyway...I can go into so much more detail about this, but I wanted to throw out the idea and see if people think it's great or lame.