Fishing 07/15/2003 02:03 PM CDT
Folks, I'm just starting out trying to learn fishing. I would appreciate any comments about the best line and bait to buy, where to fish and the actual mechanics of fishing. I can't seem to figure out how to cast the line to fish.

Kralluk
Re: Fishing 07/15/2003 02:15 PM CDT
>>I would appreciate any comments about the best line and bait to buy

Best line and bait really depends on where you are fishing and what you are trying to catch. I'm sure some of the more experienced fishers can give you advice on specific fish/locations, or you can experiment and see what kind of results you get.. half the fun of fishing, IMO :)

>>actual mechanics of fishing

GET <line|hook|[bait type]> to set up your pole.

CAST MY POLE to cast the line.
PULL MY POLE to reel in the line.
PUSH MY POLE to let more line out.
WAVE MY POLE to wiggle the line.
THROW MY POLE to relieve frustration (don't expect to get it back).

ASK <fish buyer> FOR STRING to get a wearable string to hold your fish, if you want. Good for bulk selling, but you won't be able to get them off, so don't use one if you're shooting for trophies.

PUT <fish> ON STRING to string the fish.

~Kyrrian
Re: Fishing 07/15/2003 03:38 PM CDT
There's a question .... how much demand is there for info on fishing? Taffei spent months at it (and one of her first exclamations about the new bay in Arthe Dale was, "I can FISH here!!!"), I could likely get quite the treasure trove of info if I drill her on it, and could likely build a page (although it would be a ways down the list, got quite the "to-do" list already <mutter>).

Would it be in-demand enough for me to put forth the effort?

~~~Krin
Re: Fishing 07/15/2003 04:04 PM CDT
I agree. I would love to see folks with insight into fishing techniques come forth with information. Anyone out there?

Naturn
Re: Fishing 07/15/2003 04:07 PM CDT
a fisherman never tells his secrets.

Falk

Word Of The Day