Young Empath PM 08/09/2010 02:10 AM CDT
Okay, I've recently started playing an empath again, and I was hoping someone could toss me a bit of quick advice on learning PM at low ranks. I've talked to quite a few people in game as to how to go about it, but I feel like most of them have been big for so long that they can't really understand my problem.

Now I should state that this is my first time actively attempting to train a magic user since the new experience system was put into place, so it may simply be my lack of familiarity with the rate of learning with the system, but I find PM and Harness to be painfully slow learning compared to any other skill... I can lock 34/34 just about any other skill with a few minutes of training, but it seems like to get PM/harness to 10/34 it takes nigh close to 30 minutes.

Now I've heard GoL is the godsend I'm waiting for, but at present, any attempts at casting it results in a complete failure of the spell soo...

I picked up SoP hoping it'd be a good gap bridger, but am finding that its teaching about the same as ease burden.

My method at present is to charge my Cambrith ring full with about 3 charges of 3, prep the spell and focus the ring, wait for full prep and then cast it... I've tried variations including one charge of cambrinth at 5, not waiting for full preps, and even prepping the spell, waiting 5 seconds, harnessing 3-4 (without cambrinth) and casting... nothing seems to be getting it moving at all, and I'm guessing its something I really don't understand about the best way to train PM/Harn that's the problem, not some sort of game mechanic...

I don't expect to lock PM/Harness in a few minutes like some other skills, but it'd be nice to see the numbers getting higher instead of checking the exp, going through 3 cast cycles, and checking again only to see its dropped from 8/34 to 6/34.