Ok, Call me heartless but... (long-winded) 03/13/2003 12:39 PM CST
Is it just me that thinks it's part of their job ?

Bear with me here.

I work as a salesman. I sell cell phones over the phone (telemarketing). In my job description, there is no lethal risk invovled. There is one chemical substance possibly harmful for my life that I am in contact with : liquid paper. And the other harmful lement in my day is an elevator or rolling stairs (whatever you guys call it). When I go to work each day I don't write a will before leaving.

Now and Astronaut on a space mission. Is going away from the planet, in an environment he knows is highly dangerous (no air, low gravity). In a space shuttle, which when entering the atmosphere has a window the size of a paper sheet compared to a basketball. No ejectable seats, no second chance. Also it is a good thing to note when they come back from space, they have no more fuel upon landing (no second chance).

So why is this a tragedy if they die ? It seems to me in their job description there is something that says (your job is one of the risker job after guinea pig for nuclear bomb testing).

Now as an astronaut if I left for a space mission. Top of the morning I sign my will, I kiss my wife and kids and take a good look at them telling them how much I love them and make a quick prayer so that I make it back alive.

See where I am going ? They are not martyrs, they are doing their freaking job... just like you and me.

Now they crash... They are suddenly HEROES ???!!! Maybe I don't get this right, but I would actually say someone who makes it back ALIVE is a heroe... dead is just... well that dead.

As an astronaut I would expect death rather then life when going on a mission. And even if I make it back alive... i'm just doing my job.