Just to chime in 04/30/2009 11:35 PM CDT
i had forgotten this folder existed, probably should read the boards more often but nonetheless i wanted to chime in with a comment made by a fellow Plat player. Asbhuan succinctly put it:

"I do thank you for at least trying the Plat instance. I personally found it to be more like the community was when I first started DR in 1996. For me, it kept me in DR."

i wholeheartedly agree with this statement. i started playing DR sometime in 98 (i think), did the whole migration to the web and enjoyed it for what it was but the OOC and the constant fighting over hunting spots finally got to me. This is not to say that you will not run into this in Plat too at times but the chances of it happening are slim to none and more likely none. i opened an account shortly after Plat's inception and have not looked back since. i will share to that visiting in Prime feels.. out of place. there are very few there who actually remember me and fewer still who play.

i can understand that some players may feel left out of the initial RP in plat but i urge you to consider the fact that the group that is the core of Plat has been here for a long time and we have, as any other group, grown accustomed to each other. as with any new place the onus sometimes falls on the new character to strike up a conversation and integrate themselves into our community. just the other day i had a fun experience with a few people until 3 am est. it was all via chat, we did not even see each other.. probably better in view of the dwarf beard we were teasing but it was great!

certainly the times you select to join the game matter in the abundance of people you see. i think a good idea to adopt is this: come to grips with the fact that each day is more of a mix and match. maybe today is a training day.. maybe it is a day to hang out at the fountain and interact, maybe it's kill a GM day..