Stance help 01/16/2005 08:59 PM CST
Is there any way to train parry and a shield at the same time, cause it seems no matter how I set my stance, I'm either doing on or the other.

DEPART
"The ultimate out of body experience."
Re: Stance help 01/16/2005 09:03 PM CST
<<Is there any way to train parry and a shield at the same time, cause it seems no matter how I set my stance, I'm either doing on or the other.

Slowly adjust your percentage for them. Lower the one you are learning in and increase the one you are not.

Can't really give you exact numbers since everyone's skills and stats are different.

Trebber
Re: Stance help 01/16/2005 09:31 PM CST
In my experience, nope. Just take turns.

Paladins can use a spell (Marshall's Order?) to learn both by setting them both at 100%, I think.

Arcelebor

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."
Re: Stance help 01/16/2005 09:35 PM CST
<< Slowly adjust your percentage for them. Lower the one you are learning in and increase the one you are not.

Which'll change as you get a different critter (with slightly different stats), as you get injured, as your burden changes...so you'll be adjusting that ratio all the time. I say just pick one. (Personally, I only train shield for use against ranged attacks, though. So I'm no shield master. Might go check with the Paladins, masters-of-defense and all that.)

Arcelebor

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."
Re: Stance help 01/17/2005 11:58 AM CST
Depends on the creature, your defenses and other factors, but I can regularly learn parry and shield against certain creatures. Certain creatures I use the set stances- like Evasion which is Evasion 100, parry 40, shield 40 and can learn all three.

But normally I switch stances to ML the defense I am working on, then switch around. Once I ML one, I can usually get the others up okay(well I have trouble with evasion, but I know why and its not a stance problem!)

Flavius
Re: Stance help 01/17/2005 02:28 PM CST